I did my experiment with three flashlights and my car headlights. I used a large dim flashlight, a medium lit flashlight, and a small bright LED flashlight. I expected if my previous conclusion, no beam unless the light hits an object, was incorrect I would notice it on the LED flashlight.

I tested the flashlights in my very dark garage and, like Sarah, outside in a subdivision. I tried testing them alone and with dust and smoke.

From all direction without dust or smoke I could not see a beam. I could only see the light on objects. There was the reflection of light on those objects that kept the garage or outside from being pitch black around and behind me.

With dust in the garage, I could see a few float by the direct beam of light from all the flashlights. When outside I used smoke. In all the experiments, the three flashlights and the car headlights, I could see a defined straight line beam when the smoke cross its path.

 All of my experiments did prove the same, light can only be seen when hitting an object including dust and smoke then it may be reflected or absorbed.